Scientific Committee

Ludmil Katzarkov

Ludmil Katzarkov, Ph.D.

Executive Director of the Institute of the Mathematical Sciences of the Americas


The Executive Director of IMSA is responsible for overseeing the institute's scientific activities, including serving as a co-principal investigator on grants, managing staff, and postdoctoral researchers, managing the institute's finances, and overseeing the institute's website and public relations. The Executive Director will work closely with the Dean of CAS, the Provost of the University of Miami, and the Overseeing Committee, including the chair of the Mathematics Department, in order to further the goals of IMSA. Additionally, the Executive Director will be responsible for reporting to agencies and foundations and assisting with fundraising efforts.

Leads the efforts of IMSA, coordinates scientific activities, coordinates the connection with the Simons Foundation, leads the efforts for renewal of Simons Foundation support and other fundraising efforts, manages IMSA staff and visitors, and works on increasing the visibility of IMSA and non-American connections. The Executive Director and the Mathematics Department Chairman will work closely with the Office of Development and Alumni Relations on fundraising for IMSA. The IMSA Executive Director reports jointly with the Chairman of the Mathematics Department to the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

The Executive Director reports to the Scientific Advisory Committee (a monthly report) and the UM administration.

Two new positions reflect the essentially global nature of IMSA, reporting to the Executive Director.

Ernesto Lupercio

Ernesto Lupercio, Ph.D.

Senior Executive Liaison for Global Outreach of the Institute of the Mathematical Sciences of the Americas

Leads the connection with South America and globally, building IMSAC and reporting to IMSAC, helping with the organization of MCA and fundraising activities, and helps with the website of IMSA.

Department of Mathematics
Cinvestav Researcher 3-B
Institute for Geometry and Physics Miami-Cinvestav-Campinas

Ernesto Lupercio is internationally known for his contributions to algebraic topology, geometry and mathematical physics. He was awarded the ICTP Ramanujan Prize and the TWAS Rolac Young Scholar Prize in 2009. He is currently Researcher at CINVESTAV in Mexico City.

Bernardo Uribe

Bernardo Uribe, Ph.D.

Associate Executive Liaison for Global Outreach of the Institute of the Mathematical Sciences of the Americas

Directs the connection with South America and serves as a leading ambassador to IMSA, helping with IMSAC, helping with the organization of MCA, and fundraising activities

Mathematics and Statistics Department
Universidad del Norte
Barranquilla, Colombia

Bernardo Uribe has been a professor of the Mathematics and Statistics Department of the Universidad del Norte in Barranquilla, Colombia since 2014. His main field of expertise is algebraic topology and his main focus has been understanding equivariant properties of spaces. He is recipient of the TWAS prize for young Colombian researchers in mathematics in 2012 and was elected to the Colombian Academy of Sciences in 2015. He was an invited speaker in the Topology Session of the 2018 ICM and served as vice president (2015-2017) and President (2017-2019) of the Colombian Mathematical Society.

Phillip Griffiths

Phillip Griffiths, Ph.D.

Scientific Advisory Committee Chair of the Institute of the Mathematical Sciences of the Americas

The Committee consists of internationally acclaimed mathematical scientists. It serves to review and approve scientific programs at the Institute. It currently has 11 members and can be expanded to 15. It should meet at least every three months, with subcommittees meeting as needed.

Director Emeritus
Institute for Advanced Study

Arts and Sciences Distinguished Scholar in Mathematics
Department of Mathematics
University of Miami

Phillip Griffiths is one of the most influential geometers of the past half century who has had a singular impact on mathematics and science at large through his service in numerous capacities. Among them, he was Provost at Duke from 1983 to 1991, Director of the Institute for Advanced Study from 1991 to 2003, Secretary of the International Mathematical Union from 1999 to 2006, and member of the National Science Board from 1991 to 1996. He was elected to the National Academy of Science in 1979. He is Professor Emeritus of Mathematics at IAS and Arts and Sciences Distinguished Scholar at the University of Miami.

Jacqueline Mesquito

Jacqueline Godoy Mesquita, Ph.D.

Professor at the Department of Mathematics at the University of Brasilia, Brazil

Jaqueline Godoy Mesquita is a Brazilian mathematician specializing in dynamical systems, analysis and functional differential equations.  Mesquita became an affiliate member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences and The World Academy of Sciences in 2018. In 2019 she was awarded the L'Oréal-UNESCO-BAS Award for Women in Sciences. In 2023, she was elected president of the Brazilian Mathematical Society. In the same year, she was awarded the "Science, She Says" by the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation.