Consortium Distinguished Lecture Series

Most Recent Lectures

K. Uhlenbeck

Karen Uhlenbeck

December 12, 2023, 3pm & December 14, 2023, 3pm

Lakeside Village Auditorium, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL


Karen Keskulla Uhlenbeck is an American mathematician and one of the founders of modern geometric analysis. She is a professor emeritus of mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin, where she held the Sid W. Richardson Foundation Regents Chair. She is currently a distinguished visiting professor at the Institute for Advanced Study and a visiting senior research scholar at Princeton University.

Uhlenbeck was elected to the American Philosophical Society in 2007. She won the 2019 Abel Prize for "her pioneering achievements in geometric partial differential equations, gauge theory, and integrable systems, and for the fundamental impact of her work on analysis, geometry and mathematical physics. She is the first, and so far only, woman to win the prize since its inception in 2003. She donated half of the prize money to organizations which promote more engagement of women in research mathematics.

P. Griffiths

Phillip Griffiths

August 10, 2023, 3:15pm (EEST, Sofia Time)

IMI-BAS, Hall 403 & via Zoom

Period mappings for anti-canonical pairs

Director Emeritus
Institute for Advanced Study

Arts and Sciences Distinguished Scholar in Mathematics
Department of Mathematics
University of Miami

Phillip Griffiths is one of the most influential geometers of the past half century who has had a singular impact on mathematics and science at large through his service in numerous capacities. Among them, he was Provost at Duke from 1983 to 1991, Director of the Institute for Advanced Study from 1991 to 2003, Secretary of the International Mathematical Union from 1999 to 2006, and member of the National Science Board from 1991 to 1996. He was elected to the National Academy of Science in 1979. He is Professor Emeritus of Mathematics at IAS and Arts and Sciences Distinguished Scholar at the University of Miami.

M. Douglas

Michael R. Douglas

June 30, 2023

ICMS Sofia, Bulgaria 

June 30, 2022 Lecture 1:

Lecture 1: Tameness and quantum field theory

June 30, 2022 Lecture 2:

Lecture 2: Numerical methods for differential geometry


Michael R. Douglas received his PhD in Physics in 1988 under the supervision of John Schwarz, one of the developers and leading researchers in superstring theory.

Douglas is best known for his work in string theory, for the development of matrix models (the first nonperturbative formulations of string theory), for his work on Dirichlet branes and on noncommutative geometry in string theory, and for the development of the statistical approach to string phenomenology. He has influenced the developments of modern mathematics by finding interpretations of branes on the language of derived categories and introducing the theory of stability conditions for categories.

Douglas received the 2000 Sackler Prize in theoretical physics and has been a Gordon Moore Visiting Scholar at Caltech, a Louis Michel Visiting Professor at the IHES, and a Clay Mathematics Institute Mathematical Emissary. He is a fellow of the American Mathematical Society and a member of the American Physical Society, and has served as the editor of the Journal of High Energy Physics and of Communications in Mathematical Physics.

Alexei Kovalev

Alexei Kovalev

April 12, 2023

Coassociative fibrations.

April 13, 2023

On nearly parallel G2-manifolds.

Alexei Kovalev is a mathematician whose main research area is differential geometry and global analysis. He was a student of Simon Donaldson. He is known for the `twisted connected sum' construction of compact 7-manifolds with holohomy G2 and the Kovalev–Lefschetz fibrations of these manifolds. His other works concerned Ricci-flat 8-dimensional manifolds of holonomy Spin(7), calibrated minimal submanifolds, and Calabi–Yau and hyper-Kähler manifolds.

Andras Szenes

Andras Szenes

March 9, 2023

Intersection Cohomology of the Moduli Spaces of Stable Bundle I

March 10, 2023

Intersection Cohomology of the Moduli Spaces of Stable Bundle II

Andras Szenes is a world leader of topology, numerical geometry and mathematical physics. He is known for his work on Verlinde conjecture, Hilbert schemes and singularity theory, theory of quantization.

Andras has been a Alfred Sloan Fellow and Bolyai Fellow.

He served on many international committees including ERC committees.

Andrés Navas

Andrés Navas

January 17, 2023

Research Seminar: Arc-Connectedness of the Space of 1-Dimensional Commuting Diffeomorphisms

January 17, 2023

General Audience Seminar: Khajuraho's Magic Square is a Hypercube

Andrés Navas is a mathematician specializing in dynamical systems, geometry, and group theory and is a world-renowned expert in ergodic theory. He was a student of Étienne Ghys. For his scientific achievements, he was awarded the MCA prize.

Sergei Gukov

Sergei Gukov

November 16, 2021

From Turaev to Rokhlin via VOA Characters and Curve Counting I

November 17, 2021

From Turaev to Rokhlin via VOA Characters and Curve Counting II

Sergei Gukov is a mathematical physicist.

He is known for his work on Witten-Reshetichin-Turaev invariants, Gukov-Witten surface operators, and Gukov-Pei-Putrov-Vafa invariants.

For his works he has received the Clay Mathematics Institute Long Term Prize Fellowship (2001-2006) Sloan Research Fellowship in Science & Technology.

Dennis Gaitsgory

Dennis Gaitsgory

November 8, 2021

Geometric Langlands in its Various Contexts

November 10, 2021

Restricted Geometric Langlands as a Common Denominator

Dennis Gaitsgory is an American mathematician. He is an expert on the geometric Langlands Program.

Among his spectacular achievements are the proofs of the geometric Langlands Conjecture for finite fields and for the field of complex numbers.

For his work Professsor Gaitsgory was awarded the Prize of European Mathematical Society (2000) and Chevalley Prize (2018).

Karim Adiprasito

Karim Adiprasito

November 1, 2021

Lefschetz Theorems Beyond Hodge Structures I

November 2, 2021

Lefschetz Theorems Beyond Hodge Structures II

Karim Adiprasito is a German mathematician working at the University of Copenhagen and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

He has transformed into an art applying ideas and techniques from combinatorics to many areas of mathematics. We briefly mention some of his spectacular achievements.

Together with June Huh and Eric Katz, Adiprasito solved the Heron–Rota–Welsh conjecture on the log-concavity of the characteristic polynomial of matroids. Using Mikhail Gromov's work, Adipasito, together with Bruno Benedetti, solved the Hirsch conjecture for flag triangulations of manifolds.

For his work Professor Adiprasito was awarded 2019 New Horizons Prize for Early-Career Achievement in Mathematics. In 2020 he was awarded EMS Prize of the European Mathematical Society.

Don Zagier

Don Zagier

Ramanujan International Chair
International Centre for Theoretical Physics

October 26, 2021

From Knots to Number Theory I

October 29, 2021

From Knots to Number Theory II

Don Bernard Zagier is an American-German mathematician whose main area of work is number theory. He was a scientific member and one of the directors of the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in Bonn, Germany, from 1995 until 2019 and a professor at the Collège de France in Paris, France, from 2000 to 2014.

He has been associated with the ICTP in Trieste, Italy, since 2014 and now holds the Ramanujan International Chair there.

For his groundbreaking work Professor Zagier was awarded the Cole Prize in Number Theory in 1987, the von Staudt Prize in 2001, and the Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award in 2021. He became a foreign member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1997, a member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in 2017, and an honorary member of the London Mathematical Society in 2019.